How many chemicals does it take to make you look natural?

Standard

Welcome to our daily challenge! Wait! Don’t go away!! Read here to get caught up on what’s going on. (And  coming in in the middle is totally cool.)

Day: 17

Objective: trash/gift seventeen objects (or sell/donate them)

Definition of “consumerism”: the concept that we should buy more and more – to the detriment of our wallets and lives, filling up our homes and burdening ourselves – so that companies that deplete our natural resources and have us forever slaving away (apart from friends, families, and true desires) thrive.

Reason: Many products require you to buy MORE products in order to use them. Not only are they clutter, they’re a drain on your wallet.

Suggestion: It’s a standard cliché. The woman with the gobs of beauty products that she can’t live without. She even needs a separate bag to bring it all when she travels. I remember spending the night at a friend’s house when I was a kid and being mesmerized by the mom’s entire dresser filled with bottles of beauty products. Guess what? That woman was no more beautiful than anyone else (and I highly doubt that she even used a tenth of them anyway.) I know that it takes products to keep ourselves clean and looking well. It does NOT take that much.

I think I can say I’ve found the sweet spot in beauty products because I did a little experimenting last year. There is a movement of naturist type people that go “no poo.” They claim that our shampoo is actually hurting our body’s natural balance and that after a few weeks of washing with only water that your body can return to this natural balance without any further haircare products.

That sounded right up my alley. I have fairly healthy, natural hair that I’ve discovered looks best when I let it decide what it’s going to do without trying to wrangle it to be something it’s not.

So I took on the challenge to totally let it do what it wants and not bother it with products. Bring on the second week greasy stage that comes with the tough adjustment period! Well, we were coming to the end of the second month when I did everyone a favor and washed my hair with shampoo. How it works for some, I don’t know. My hair never adjusted like I was told it would and I made sure to give it a real chance. I now know clearly that my hair needs shampoo, and conditioner, and a semi frequent dose of leave-in conditioner as well.

There are some other products I know I need and I use them to maintain politeness with my friends (Though no one mentioned the greasy hair. I did my best to hide it but after two months it had to be obvious. My friends still loved greasy me.) You know what I don’t need?

  • 53 individual sized shampoos and lotions from hotel stays. No you don’t need it for an emergency. If you run out of shampoo you have two months to make it to the store to buy a bottle at least before someone disowns you. You’ll make it.
  • I don’t need perfumes that I don’t regularly wear. I don’t care how good it smells or how expensive it was; if you don’t put it on, it’s useless and just taking up space.
  • I don’t need hair stuff that I used when my hair was short (those little clips or the headbands) or that I haven’t worn since the 90’s (scrunchies or banana clips. And fine. I wore them long after the 90’s were done and I should have stopped wearing them.)
  • I don’t need spare toothbrushes from the last 12 trips to the dentist since I always buy new ones at the store (if an army stops to spend the night they’ll just have to brush with their fingers.)
  • I don’t need any products that I don’t like the smell of. I don’t care if it was a gift. (They’re ALWAYS gifts. The reason they bought those products is only because they didn’t know what else to get you.)

None of these things should be in your bathroom either taking up precious space. Seventeen items. Go!


 

 

I know this is already a long post for the daily challenge but I have to add a few more things. First off, a hearty “thank you” goes to my friend, Linda, who helped me with the consumerism definition. I knew what I wanted to say but couldn’t get it portrayed correctly. Punctuation can be tricky! She whipped it right into shape for me and I truly appreciate her detail and kind heart. It’s a wonderful combination.

Also, it’s been brought up recently to me that I’ve made stupid and eye-roll worthy grammar mistakes in some other posts. I could go back and find them or I could just make a public announcement that I really DO know where to put apostrophes and know the difference between to, two, and too and really DO care to do right by Mr. Inventor of English Grammar. (Sorry sir.) I just don’t always. I apologize if I have anyone cringing. I’ll try to do better but I cant garantee anyting, : P
But I am one of those folks who really does love constructive criticism. If you see something (grammatically or thought processy) and want to call me out on it, go right ahead! If it makes you feel better and helps me improve then we should break the social rule of never saying anything negative to anyone, anytime about anything– except if a new mom has the wrong amount of clothing on her baby, then by all means (the rule states) lambaste her and make her feel incompetent and help her realize that her job as a mother should always be trying to appease every stranger’s fear of overheating/overexposing, being too tightly wrapped/too loosely wrapped, etc. Yeah… The social rules are stupid. Let’s not follow them here. Anyone can say anything that’s not fully supportive unless it’s about how someone should dress babies. That one has been covered by everyone else everywhere else. Give that one a break. 

 

One thought on “How many chemicals does it take to make you look natural?

Leave a Reply

