Special non-scheduled post because…

Standard

This week is my birthday. Yep, two months old.

birthday cupcake

Oh, you thought I meant my regular birthday? Well, yes, I had one of those too. For that one I’ll give you a hint—I’m in the double digits.

But what is really exciting is that this blog is two months old. Those regular birthdays are old hat, I’ve had 33 of those (dang, I gave it away) but this blog is still little and cute and has that new blog smell while my regular birthdays have started the final sprint toward middle age.

But it’s still two months in. I’ve had time to officially get my feet wet; to see how this blogging thing really works. This is my 17th post. I’m overall well received, I’ve been read (fine, possibly only clicked on) by people in 23 different countries, and have even been featured on Rockstar Finance (I think J. Money just has a soft spot for new bloggers to include me, thanks J.!)

Which brings me to that address bar. It says wordpress.com at the end of my address.

It bothers me. No doubt.

It seems unprofessional. Anyone who’s anyone has their own site and doesn’t have to piggyback off of someone else’s.

But here’s the thing: I blog about personal finance and frugality. How could I justify writing about how to minimize expenses if I grab onto a new unnecessary expense just so I can appear more knowledgeable? (Nothing would really change except for a cleaner domain name and a yearly fee taken out of my perfectly balanced budget.)

Here’s another thing about blogging: The personal finance blogger world is so super supportive, helpful, and generally honest.** When these guys tell you how they manage their money they tell you, “Hey, here’s how I do it, I even make money from this blog!” (Thanks for the candidness blogger dudes/dudettes.)

So how about I pay to drop the pathetic tag line and then be open to make money myself instead of WordPress making all the money off of me?*

Well I can’t get comfortably on board with that either at this point.

You see, you make money with ads. Ads that will try to sell my readers things that I may be trying to convince them they don’t need!

ad

But really, I don’t even know that, because I’ve installed Adblocker on my system so I never have to be bothered by ads on other bloggers’ sites (or anywhere else for that matter.) Doesn’t it seem unfair for me to purposefully subject anyone else to them when I don’t deal with them myself?

So I’m gonna hang out here for now.

Sure, I could spend a lot of time and effort gaining readers. I could study which keywords are popular and which affiliates are most profitable. And while I don’t think there’s anything necessarily bad about doing those things, what I would really like is just to be honest with myself and work on good writing. I’ll let readers stumble upon my work and maybe I’ll be able to inspire someone in Portugal while having no underlying need to receive anything in return. You’re welcome, guy in Portugal. It’s on me (er, on WordPress.)

I’ll check back in later (what, maybe 6 months or a year in) and I can reevaluate if this blog has grown into a new stage. For now I’ll just stay young, cute and cuddly. No asking for an allowance so I can go out with my friends to the movies just yet.

*Nothing at all against WordPress. From the reading up that I HAVE done on blogging, they are a super respected site with lots of free options and minimal ads.

**If you are a seasoned, or even a new, blogger and have advice for me, feel free to comment or drop me an email at WondrouslyWeird@att.net. I love constructive criticism almost as much as ego stroking so feel free to let me have it no matter what you’re thoughts are. I respect you guys!


Oh, I do feel super guilty about not yet posting part 2 to our How did we get here story, especially after cruelly teasing you once before. I only know that you are anticipating it because good friends (who incidentally know us therefore knows how the story will end up anyway) are bugging me for it. But here’s the thing, our story’s not changing and I am certainly never going to forget it. (Definitely a memorable time.) There’s just so much to write about, I don’t want to blow our entire story all at once! I’ll write more about it over the weekend, okay?

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/clevercupcakes/2754867645/”>clevercupcakes</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/pinkponk/515188706/”>ChowKaiDeng</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

One thought on “Special non-scheduled post because…

Leave a Reply

