Is it making you happy more than guilty?

Standard

When you try to live less materialistically, the point is not to simply not have stuff. The point is to fully appreciate the stuff you do have. If you have too much it is overwhelming. You may begin to feel like you are obligated to have everything and you don’t realize that every little thing you have is a gift.

If you fully realize the usefulness of every item, it makes every interaction with your stuff a joy.

rolling pins

I use my rolling pin about once or twice a year. I do use it. It does have an “away” place where it is basically out of the way. BUT, if it doesn’t make the cut and it gets cleared out that leaves more room. It leaves less clutter to distract when you look around the kitchen. And when I do decide to make sugar cookies with the kids and I need a rolling pin I will be appreciative of the glass or bottle that will do double duty for me.

I don’t need or deserve a rolling pin. I don’t want to have to dust it (it stays on the back of my stove.) I don’t want to have to look at it. I don’t want to be a poor owner and not appreciate it.

I’m going to give someone else a chance to be a better owner to it than I ever was.

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewmalone/2290162568/”>andrewmalone</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

